Conclusion

As the degree I am studying is very broad, I have kept my options open during my degree for possible future professions, specifically talking about a profession and reflecting on it was somewhat of a difficult task. I have not had any previous experience as a Physiotherapist, nor is my degree purely focused on it, however I would like to use my degree as a stepping stone to Physiotherapy and found that information I learned during this assignment and during the unit itself was extremely insightful into the world of Physiotherapy.

Although I have had previous experience undertaking IT classes and playing around with websites, I found WordPress difficult to navigate at first. However, with practices comes success and I feel as though I was able to meet my vision for how it would look. This aspect was relatively rewarding as I overcame my initial frustrations.

Learning the overall ability to be able to communicate professionally during the unit has already helped me in my professional career, as I had a job interview during this unit with over 2200 applicants. Thankfully, the skills I have learnt were enough to get me the jobs as I felt confident and proactive during the interview itself. A more theory based learning curve includes the Interprofessional Team Communication. I found it fascinating the way communication within different disciplines is so vital in getting positive results or feedback and how working as a team with different practitioners with a common goal is so rewarding, which is something I will use to grow into for future professional roles. Similarly, I found that just the simple task of paying attention when someone is talking to you is important in many aspects of Health professions. From active listening to being empathetic, by showing that you are listening and providing feedback, you are able to not only help the patients more effectively, but you also make your own job easier as the communication is clear and authentic (Block-Hansen, 2017).

Leave a comment